Hi, I’m Pine. I wanted to try out microblogging as a replacement for traditional social media while also sharing things that inspire me as a small video creator and this platform seems promising.

I wanted to share a little about a genre that has interested for a while known commonly as analog horror. As Wikipedia puts it, “analog horror” is:

A subgenre of horror fiction and offshoot of the found footage film technique, often cited as originating online during the late 2000s and early 2010s.

Gooseworx’s Thalasin is by far the best analog horror I’ve seen on YouTube and an inspiration to me as a video creator. It evokes the familiar (even comforting) feeling when watching old commercials and infomercials on VHS tape while also playing on the eeriness of the VHS’s gradual decay. Is what we are viewing in the Thalasin commercial what was actually recorded from nighttime cable TV or is the tape showing us the darker side of the pharmaceutical company’s intention?

It’s so well done and stands out to me within the genre.